The Turkeys of Thanksgiving

THE TURKEYS ARE BACK!!!!! Sorry for shouting but they are one of my favorite things about the ranch. I hate those deer because they enjoy eating everything I enjoy growing. I like the birds of prey but I’m worried they will eat my cats. The fox was cool but he’s MIA. The turkeys however, are just plain awesome. When we first bought the property there was a large flock that would roam through the pastures then one day, there was a massacre. I’m not sure what happened but there were dead turkey carcasses along the back road to the house. I’m thinking hick kids with nothing else to do. None of them were eaten so there’s no reason to believe it was a natural death. I didn’t have time to autopsy so the case file was closed as inconclusive. After that, there were less turkeys. They rarely came through our property and there were fewer of them in general. This winter, 16 months later, the flock has returned with a vengeance. With the back road blocked off to trespassers and would be turkey slaughterers, they are running wild, 20 members strong. They are grazing with the horses. They are roosting in our trees. They are talking to us when we say, “lubba, lubba, lubba.” The turkeys are one of my favorite parts of life on the ranch.

Wild turkeys are just gorgeous. Somehow, they never seem to lose their feathers and become the molting disgusting creatures that other birds become. They’re huge. Chaos chased one and watching it trying to get off the ground was like watching the Spruce Goose try to fly but they are so powerful that they beat the air into submission. That particular beast managed to get 20 feet into air, which was about five feet higher than chaos was jumping but like they say, you only have to be faster than the slowest guy.

I’m going to try to take photos of them but the new camera doesn’t do low light all that well and usually they come around at dusk.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Danielle on December 2, 2011 at 09:09

    Turkeys freak me the eff out. I used to keep Cholla in a backyard in Los Gatos, and they had a lot of turkeys… So I walked around with a lunge whip all the time so I could defend myself.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Moo on December 3, 2011 at 14:19

    If you make the turky sound, they will answer back. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Moo on December 3, 2011 at 14:20

    Oops. typo on turkey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

