Tomato Review- Spoon

According to the literature, Spoon tomatoes are an ancient form of tomato, related to the earliest tomatoes, from Peru. I say they are tiny, micro-currant sized bits of tomato goodness. They have perfect tomato flavor and I will NEVER grow them again. OK, maybe that’s a bit strong but here’s the deal…

Spoon tomatoes of tiny.

Sorry that’s not in focus. The kids are still working out when to use the macro setting on the camera. The red tomatoes in this photo are Spoons. You can see (sort of, if you haven’t fallen down dizzy yet) that they are very, very small. They are smaller than cherry tomatoes, by far. Sometimes it takes three spoons to equal one cherry. No worries, what they lack in size they make up for in production. These plants are prolific producers. I mean prolific.

Have you ever seen so many tomatoes in such a small area? I mean there were tons of these little tiny fruits on the plants. They were the first ripe tomatoes in the garden, thanks to their small size.

The plants themselves were amazing. They were impervious to disease. They had no problems with the early season wet weather than gave all of the other plants speck. I made the mistake of trying to cage the plants in my regular five-foot, concrete reinforcing wire cages. These wild tomato cousins do not want to be caged. The plants want to be bushy and free. The cages turned into little jungles and made it impossible to get to fruit in the middle of the plants however, that hardly mattered because there was so much fruit on the outside of the plants, I didn’t need the stuff in the middle. In fact, the plant is still fruiting. And the fruit has a really long hang time. It never rots on the vine.

In all that fruit lies my big problem with this wild plant. I simply don’t have the attention span to pick that fruit. It’s tiny. It’s everywhere. I have two plants and 90% of the fruit is still on the vine. The only use I have for the fruit is when I’m in the garden doing something else and I graze from the Spoon plants. The fruit is delicious, no doubt about it. Its little bursts of tomato flavor, like tomato caviar (ooohhhh, idea!) The fruit is a good mix of acid and sweet. They even manage to be juicy!

So who would like this variety?  I think if I were to grow this again, I would grow just one and I would put it in a sunny spot near where we sit (perhaps a front porch, if we had a front porch) and I would use it for grazing from while lounging. I would pick tiny tomatoes while chatting. If nothing else, it’s a beautiful ornamental with its chartreuse leaves and bright red fruit. People with kids might like it, since kids are attracted to tiny foods (I don’t know why.) Professional chefs would like this variety since it’s different and tasty. Those guys always seem to have time to dissect tiny foods into even tinier pieces. Obsessive compulsive people would also like this variety. the intricacies of picking all that tiny fruit, seems like a productive way to focus their energy. So the ultimate lover of this variety would be an OCD, seven-year-old chef. If you know one of those, they can get their seeds from TomatoFest.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Doug Sleeger on February 3, 2017 at 21:29

    One of the best tomato plant descriptions ever! Outstanding humor…love it OCD, 7 yo chef!! HAHAHA never knew this type of tomato existed before today. Thanks again.

    Doug

    Reply

Leave a Reply

