Sssshhhh….I’m Blogging Again

Don’t tell anyone and please don’t make a big deal about it. I return to the blog with my head hung in shame. I’m sorry for abandoning you. I hope you will take me back. I can promise to turn a witty tale or two. I have a few somewhat stale, lightly used stories to tell, about the trials and tribulations of remodeling and gardening on a semi-pro scale. Let me catch you up on things that have happened recently.

The contractor quit. It’s for the best. We were running out of money and those guys usually want to get paid. Not to worry, a friend came to our rescue. Remember Mike, who helped up build the fence? He’s been helping put the house back together. This is where we are in the process:

I know that isn’t the most helpful photo, as far as getting the bigger picture goes but I was hoping to replace at least a thousand words. I’ll tell you more about it later but we had a little issue with things fitting inside the bathroom so we changed the floor plan again. We didn’t get the plans redone this time. Mike assures me the county won’t mind (much) and he will help us take care of the issues. We’ll see. So far, the county has been grossly uncooperative about, well, everything.

Meanwhile, in the garden of Good and evil, the tomatoes started to ripen. They started to ripen the week after I panicked and bought (picked, with Dave’s help) 100 lbs of canning tomatoes from Marquita Farms. I forced the kids into 12 hours of canning servitude. They were champs. They did all this:

Actually, they did all that and more. I was very impressed. I haven’t had the heart to make them help me again, even though we have a garden full of over-ripe tomatoes.

The bees have left. One week we had a thriving community and the next, nothing. An empty hive full of cleaned out comb is an eerie place. We’ve been a little depressed over it. I don’t fully understand why the hive swarms when it’s getting ready to die back but I know of three other local bee keepers who have suffered the same fate.

Here are the bees shortly before they left. This was also shortly before they got really upset and caused a ruckus. Dave made us buy bee suits after that. We will be getting more bees next spring.

So there you have it. The brief happenings at Redemption. Stay tuned for more.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Amethyst on October 25, 2011 at 21:35

    Not making a big deal! But I’m glad the blog is back!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Danielle on October 25, 2011 at 21:39

    WHERE ARE MY TOMATOES, WOMAN?!?!?!?!

    Reply

  3. Welcome back…I’ve missed you! Maybe I’ll even be inspired to get back to blogging…

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jules on October 26, 2011 at 19:12

    Welcome back! Who’s that weird kid with the goggles?

    Reply

  5. Posted by Moo on November 5, 2011 at 15:56

    Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You!!!
    I missed coming home from school and reading this everyday!
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

