Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep. In the Middle of the Doorway.

This is the unofficial floor plan. It’s actually an older version so there are changes. The front door and the interior master bedroom door have turned into double doors and there are bigger windows, amongst other things but you can get the general idea of what the inside of the house will look like.

So if you were paying attention yesterday, you can start to understand my concern with the two sets of double doors in the bedroom. where does the bed go? I was thinking we should get a bed that lowers down from the ceiling, then can be raised again in the morning. But what I really want is this, which would sit in the middle of the room:

Sadly, that is $15,000. The artist is a she, Shawn Lovell, and she makes some beautiful, metal things. I love beautiful, metal things. You can find her work here. She’s local. Sigh. Since I clearly can’t afford that bed, and so far my favorite young furniture designing upstart, Danielle has not learned how to do anything as complicated as that bed (besides, she’s already back ordered on my goat-legged stools) I may have to settle for a fireplace screen by Shawn and find a more appropriate bed to sit in the middle of our room. One that would look good framed by sliding barn doors, in the double doorway. One that won’t block the path to the bathroom. I need another furniture artist to patronize. I don’t mean patronize as in adopt and air of superiority, I mean patronize as in provide support for.

Dave and I have another artist we patronize. Alright, I don’t know if commissioning two pieces is technically patronizing but it’s as close as we are going to get. Feel free to check out Sara Scroggins’ website. Someday, I’ll put our paintings in a well-lit place and take photos of them so you can see. She did our wedding portrait and it’s awesome. Actually, I just looked at her site and if you check out her commissions page, under the gallery, you can see one of our pieces. I’m the one that’s not the pug or the middle age couple.

But back to the bed issue, anyone have thoughts? Hello? Did you all go to check out the artists and forget about me? I guess that’s OK. Artists need love, too.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by anita on May 26, 2011 at 22:11

    Sorry. I still think move the closets into the strange place by the bathroom, or, reorient the bathroom to take up that space. not great, but less weird.

    Reply

  2. Posted by husband on May 28, 2011 at 06:26

    Visions of The Boy swinging on the bed tree limbs…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

