Getting My Goat On

I got my first copy of Goat Rancher this week and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I bought the subscription on the advice of a breeder who said it would eventually teach me everything I need to know about raising meat goats. As you can see from the cover, this was the annual kidding special. There were articles on the nightmare of raising Angora goats, how to read the label on milk replacer and the different types of corn gluten. You know, the kind of stuff that makes normal people’s eyes glaze over and run screaming from the room, if they don’t die of boredom first. I thought it was brilliant and I read the whole thing, cover to cover. Did you know goats don’t like to cross water and a small water obstacle will often be enough to keep them from escaping? I’m just tickled by the idea of building a moat around my goats. Heh. A goat moat.

Now, if you excuse me, I’m going to go order my copy of “Way to Goat” the all telling book on how to raise goats and maximize profits from sales.

Leave a Reply

