Barbarians at the Gate

We finally got the gate up on the back road and might I say, it looks damn good.

The gate can be seen from the “main” road so there’s no more room for crackheads to pull onto the back road and hide in the bushes to do their dirty deeds (done dirt cheap.) It took Dave and I a while to figure out how we were going to hold up the gate, get it on the hinges and get the hardware tightened down. I’m pretty sure if there was a third strong person there, this project would have been done in 30 minutes. I’m not going to tell you how long it took. I’m not the worlds most useful ranch hand when it comes to manual labor.

We took so long that the kids finally showed up. We let them play  a little bit. And just so you don’t think we’re delinquent parents, we didn’t actually let her turn it on:

And here is my most handsome husband, putting the finishing touches on the posts:

Isn’t he just a stunning specimen of a man? He’s also handy with power tools.

He had chicken pox this week. I thought he was going to die. He’s on the upswing and I could not be happier. If he died, not only would I have to go into seclusion and wear black for the rest of my life, I would never be able to finish the fence he started. It would take me years to put up the railing. Maybe we shouldn’t talk about that. Maybe we should talk about life insurance…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Bonnie on November 13, 2010 at 17:18

    yay! looks great Marcia.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

