A Good Reason to Raise Meat Animals

I don’t eat meat. I haven’t eaten meat since 1997 or somewhere thereabouts. My husband and the children still eat meat but for the most part I don’t have a problem with that. I like meat, it’s delicious. What I don’t like it the way meat animals are raised, fed and killed. It’s gross. Sometimes it’s beyond gross. Today I encountered this:

Mechanically separated chicken

Please click that link. It’s not horrific in the gross, bloody, give you nightmares, sort of way, it’s gross in the really, that’s what it looks like, sort of way. Then stop buying the shit that’s in your grocer’s freezer. It’s disgusting. No, it’s beyond disgusting. I shudder to think about what you’re doing to another live animal, much less what you’re doing to yourself. If you know the facts and can face them, then you should eat what you want. If you’re OK with pink chicken that looks like bubble gum intestines and is soaked in ammonia to get rid of the bacteria, then so be it. You are an informed consumer. Most people are not informed consumer. Sure we’re better off than Jurgis Rudkus in Upton Sinclair’s “The Jungle” but by how much? 100 years later, we should be more evolved that we are now.

I decided a while ago that I want to raise meat animals. Moo hates this idea but I think it’s important to understand where food comes from. I think it’s important to understand that to have a chicken sandwich, you have to kill something. I think it’s important to be connected to the killing of something because it fosters respect for that process. One of the two major reasons to buy the ranch came from my desire to raise turkeys for slaughter. It’s still one of my biggest goal but because of my self-imposed pressure to do it right, it’s one of the last things I’m going to work on. Meanwhile, I’ve had to break it to Moo that the egg laying hens only lay for two years, after that, they are stew (or dumplings.)

People keep asking if I’m going to eat meat if I raise it. Maybe. Probably. I think so but really, I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to slaughter it and eat it. I won’t know until I try it. I’ve never eaten something with a name. What I do know is if I eat meat, it will be something that was raised humanely, slaughtered quickly with respect and stored in a way that makes it safer than meat bathed in toxic chemicals.

By the way, if you’re looking for some light reading, check out a father of modern sustainable agriculture, Joel Saltanin’s farm, Polyface. His chickens have significantly less bacterial counts than the stuff you get from the grocery store and his animals are raised exactly how I would want to be raised if I were a meat animal.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Moo on September 30, 2010 at 20:02

    Ew ew ew ew ew.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Moo on September 30, 2010 at 20:05

    I think it looks like toothpaste. Im never using toothpaste again. Sorry Dad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

