Transient Animal No. 4- Discotelli

Ok, Discotelli, AKA Munchie or Disco, isn’t actually transient but he is one of our animals. He’s probably not going to live at the ranch because he is a young stallion and Cholla is a mare. She’s too old to be having babies but not too old to get pregnant. Oh how disastrous that would be. Plus, all dooms day scenarios aside, Disco has big things in his future. He was my first home-bred baby. Here he is at one day old:

And here is his mother, a nicely bred Hanoverian:

This is his sire, Donatelli, who passed away a year after disco was born:

Here is Dave, trimming Disco’s feet at a month old:

At a month old, he was huge. He was round and had giant knees. It was at that point that me and my friend/business partner/co-owner decided to leave him a stallion until he matures. Sometimes, the extra hormones stunt the growth a little. I’m not sure if it really worked but he’s definitely a normal size warmblood now. He lives with his BFF Cal, in a pasture behind Country Hills Feed. He shares his giant pasture with sheep, turkeys, chickens and some other sundry animals. I think it’s good exposure for him.

Here’s Disco in a recent photo with The Boy and Moo. I’m not sure what was going on with the feather but it looks like they were doing some sort of shamanistic ritual.

Disco is two now, we’ll start him under saddle next year and see how it goes. Eventually he’ll be for sale but we want him to have the best start he can have.

And as an aside, his pasture has some really powerful electric fencing, that’s used for cattle. I know this because I backed into it while opening the gate. Dave says I screamed but I don’t remember and for the next half hour my butt muscles kept clenching. If you’re ever out there, please be careful of the fence.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Janet on September 15, 2010 at 10:43

    Marsha;
    Just wanted to let you know how much I have enjoyed checking out your blog. I laughed hysterically when I took a peek the 1st time (all about the house and the garden) and… you are a fabulous and fabulously entertaining writer.

    Jumped in today, just because I had been delinquent to say hi, and enjoyed seeing the photos of your 2 year old.
    Talk about stressing on making decisions, at least you have someone to stress out with.
    Take Care,
    jf

    Reply

  2. Posted by Moo on September 15, 2010 at 18:37

    Disco is a fantastic horse. The Boy and I said hi to him and he wasnt even scared.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Moo on September 15, 2010 at 18:43

    BTW…. you allredy have transient No 3 its cholla

    Reply

  4. He is gorgeous! I can’t wait to hear about your adventures starting him under saddle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

