Under Pressure

Our most asked question about the ranch is, when are we moving in? The answer is a big fat, “I dunno.” (The second most asked question is, Prunedale? Are you kidding me? But I digress.) I wish I knew the move in date, but our fate lies in the hands of Monterey County. We will be moving in two months after the county OK’s our plans. In the meantime, we just keep taking more things apart. Dave finished removing all of the wiring in the house. The system is so old, each fixture had its own wire and the wires were passed through ceramic insulators at every wall. We have a bucket of insulators left, if anyone can think of something crafty to do with them. Dave says they make a good tool for auto burgs. Apparently, whacking tempered glass with one of those things makes glass shatter. I think I might develop a new line of personalized auto burg tools.  Maybe I could paint them pretty colors or bedazzle them. One can’t forget the lady burglars, I think that’s what they call a niche market.

Anyway, back to the move in date. When we first started buying the property, we were thinking May. In April when we closed, we were thinking August. In August, as we were finally submitting the plans, we thought October would be nice. Now, we’re shooting for Christmas. But I don’t want to tempt the Gods of Fate so I’ll just say, we’re flexible about that date.

In the meantime, despite the fact that we don’t have approved plans, Dave insists that I need to pick out flooring or at least the flooring type. Something about building the appropriate type of sub-floor. I don’t know, I stopped listening when I started to freak out. You can not believe the pressure I am under. Here’s the big conundrum: There are two spaces in the house that have some original wood flooring that I would like to keep. The current living room has beautiful 3/4 inch oak floors (remember, I waxed poetic about them when I talked about buying the house) and the kitchen has some sort of wood plank that I’m fond of but is far more utilitarian than the living room floor. These rooms are to become part of the great room and I just can’t figure out how to make the whole thing work. I was thinking of doing the rest of the house, including bedrooms and bathrooms, in some sort of darker wide plank flooring that doesn’t make the slightest attempt at matching the rest of the wood. Of course, I can’t find any pictures anywhere of flooring in a great room that changes shape size and color three times.

Trying to pick out flooring makes me momentarily forget that at the rate we’re going, we will never move into the house. Does anyone else hear David Bowie and Queen singing “Under Pressure“? (If you don’t hear them, click the link for a really fantastic version. It’s one of my all time favorites when I’m having a hard day at work.)

Please feel free to weigh in on the flooring issue.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by RIPersoneni on September 15, 2010 at 13:55

    Screw Em all, keep the flooring, you can always change it later if ya don’t like it….. Make each area with different lumber a different lil area/use!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Amethyst on September 24, 2010 at 00:03

    I bet there is a way… I will think about it. Maybe a design in the section of floor between the two parts you want to keep that says “I meant to do that.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

