Potato Harvest

This weekend we pulled up all of the potatoes and can I just tell you how gratifying it was? It is really just so satisfying to rip the plants from their roots and find 10 potatoes per plant.

The kids were all about pulling up the plants. I think it’s more exciting because it’s like a treasure hunt. One day you have plants, the next day you have food. Like magic! I kind of feel that way about the whole experience. Potatoes were the easiest thing to grow, ever!

Now, I have to say, I didn’t follow the directions to plant potatoes. Not even a little. I didn’t have time to do it right, so I was surprised the experiment turned out so well. I actually pulled out the plants because I have some sort of disease that’s sweeping the tomatoes and I didn’t want the potatoes to catch it just before we harvest. They were ready anyway. I had already been stealing individual spuds off of the plants for my sister-in-law who says they are the best potatoes she has ever had. I have to agree with her.

One of the coolest thing about potato growing (and there are many) is the only thing you have to do to plant them is get some starter potatoes, I got mine from Seed Savers Exchange, cut them up and plant them. Well OK, that’s what I did but the directions are a little more specific if you want to do it right. You should cure them so they scab over where you cut them and that gives them some resistance against diseases. I imagine the combo of a dry summer and brand spankin’ new soil, made me successful without doing it right. Even if you do it right, it’s still so simple. In two short months, you too could be harvesting two five gallon buckets full of taters.

Now that we have this many potatoes, I’m going to have to figure out how to stabilize them for storage. Please excuse me while I consult Putting Food By…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by The Boy on September 12, 2010 at 08:51

    Hey there was one half the size of my head!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Moo on September 15, 2010 at 18:50

    yup. treasure hunting fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

