Transient Animal No. 3: Cholla

I know Danielle has been waiting for this post. Danielle is Cholla’s owner and she loves her horse very much, even if the horse lives with us. Well, Ok, she doesn’t live with us either. She lives at Paula’s. (Remember Paula? She gave me the pig. Paula’s a bad influence.) Paula is keeping Cholla for us while we build the pasture. Cholla had to move from her stall because Danielle was leaving town. Danielle is going to art school in New York but don’t worry, she doesn’t fit the artist profile. Maybe it’s because she’s interested in furniture and furniture is a very practical sort of art. She’s a well grounded sort of person, funny, clever, not at all flighty and loves her horse. And she paid a years worth of board up front so we could afford to put in pasture fencing for her wonderful mare. When she started applying to art school, she asked Dave if we would be interested in boarding her horse. I said no. I didn’t want to have an animal dumped in our lap that no one was coming back for. people have a habit of abandoning their retired horses at boarding facilities. But Dave kept talking about how much Danielle does for her horse and how carefully she manages her vet care. In the end, I agreed because I was sure that there was absolutely no way that Danielle would abandon Cholla to our care and never come back.

Cholla is well into her golden years. She is actually the same age as Betty White, in horse years. She has some health issue, not the least of which is sometimes, she’s just not that interested in food.  I think she might have some delusions about her career as a super-model. Tomorrow, I’m going out to buy her some new grain because she’s decided she’s no longer willing to eat the stuff she has and we have to have something to mix with her meds. You may think she sounds like a pain in the ass but if you met her, you would take one look at her lovely eyes and say, that’s OK, she’s old and should have anything she wants.Which is why I’m going to the feed store.

My mission to put weight on this horse. I think she’s put on a little bit since she’s been at Paula’s. I bought some hay that was really uh-may-zing. Hay is not my thing, I’m actually really allergic to it but if it were my thing, I’d be all about this hay. I figure I can’t do anything about the Cushings or the fact that she’s allergic to her own sweat so her hair falls out on hot days but damn it, I can feed her.

I think once the pasture is built, she’s going to enjoy life with the other transient horses and an alpaca. More on them later.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Hahaha! Yussss! She really is the sweetest pain in the ass ever 🙂 I can’t wait to see her in 2.5 wks, the horses in Central Park/ Times Square are just not as cool as her… Even if they have cool names like “Herbert Hoover” and don’t sweat their hair out.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Moo on August 31, 2010 at 19:33

    my dad says cholla is a sweetie. i cant wait to meet her.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Paula on September 1, 2010 at 16:45

    She is one of the sweetest horses ever. Way nicer than any of mine.

    Reply

  4. Hahaha, Paula! I just saw your comment, glad she is behaving herself 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Vivian on September 8, 2010 at 20:04

    I am so glad she is behaving herself for you. I am Danielle’s mom and I, too, love that little pony. I know she does not like mint balls so don’t waste your money on those!!! Wonder if she likes granola???

    Reply

  6. […] Transient Animal No. 3: Cholla August 2010 5 comments 4 […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

