Tater Time

I’ve been good. I’ve been waiting. I have exercised an extreme amount of self-control. But this week I could no longer help myself and I picked an entire bush worth of potatoes. I pulled the whole thing up. As of today, I had more control over myself and started “grabbing” potatoes, which is the practice of reaching through the soft dirt and feeling around for a potato or two and plucking them from the plant. I grabbed a  couple for my sister-in-law, who ate them for dinner tonight and described them as, “GOOOOOD.”

Yesterday’s haul in its entirety:

Right now, at this very moment, I’m waiting for water to boil so I can par cook some ‘taters. Then hubby is going to grill those ‘taters with olive oil, herbs (probably sage), salt and pepper. We’re frying up the Padron Peppers in the cast iron skillet then adding some sea salt. For desert, we’re having caprese salad, which we have had almost every Sunday night since the basil started growing and we are nowhere near tired of it. We’re to the point where we buy mozzarella from Costco. Maybe I should start thinking about making my own mozzarella. I’ve heard it’s not hard….

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Moo on August 30, 2010 at 18:45

    Oh my gosh. That is alot of Potatoes! Your doing all the fun with out me! 😦 Iwish i Was There.

    Reply

  2. I love the way they match your sweatshirt! I bet they are yum – oh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

