Second Season Veggies

It’s day seven of winter veggie germination and the cold weather veggies are sprouting. I’m super stoked because I have had a 100% germination rate for the Broccoli Rappini. Yes, friends. My life really has come down to being excited about seed germination. Don’t judge.

The broccoli rape looks like this:

Which looks almost exactly like the Jersey cabbage:

Which also looks exactly like the Brussel Sprouts. I’m not going to show you the Brussels. That would be redundant. Again. What I will show you is the fava beans. Every time I think about fava beans (and I do mean every time) in my head I hear Hannibal Lecter say, “I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti.” Followed by that tongue noise he makes.

YouTube – Hannibal Lecter – Fava Beans and Chianti.

That was my first shot at embedding a video. I don’t think it worked but you can enjoy my fava beans in the meantime:

I also planted some snow peas for Dave. He asked me to grow snow peas two years ago but I didn’t know anything about them and apparently didn’t understand what snow meant, so I tried to grow them in summer. They sweltered and died in the Ben Lomond heat. This year, I think I have a better chance. Hopefully, they won’t swelter and die in the Prunedale winter (because I sure as hell have been freezing my ass off in the summer.)

These little beauties are the Portuguese Flat Onions. I can’t wait to roast them up with some winter veggies and goat cheese. Mmmmmm.

And this is the only Rainbow Swiss Chard to germinate, so far. of course, it’s been way to hot here for chard to germinate so maybe as it cools down this weekend, we’ll have more success.

I hope we can put in our kitchen this year, I really want to cook up some winter veggies.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Moo on August 29, 2010 at 12:19

    Thank You for correcting mah age.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

