Sun Begets Tomatoes

As I said yesterday, it’s been hot. It’s hot because it’s sunny. Ok, I know that’s an oversimplification and I expect to get some hate mail from my weather nerd friends. But the point I’m trying to make is that peppers love heat but tomatoes love the sun. They want it to be warmish but they really want 6-8 full hours of sun, every day. And this week, where there’s heat, there’s sun. Where there’s sun, there’s hope that the tomatoes might actually ripen. That’s all I’m trying to say weather friends. I wanted to share a couple of photos of the tomatoes that ripened this weekend. Again, these were all taken by Moo, who is 11. Not 9.

And this is the largest tomato we’ve had ripen, though there are some larger ones that are green on the vine.

Almost there…Just a little bit longer for these white tomatoes.

This is a side by side comparison of our garden’s tomato and the tomato from the store:

The brown spot at the bottom of a tomato is caused by a calcium deficiency. Note that my tomato has an almost non-existent blossom end spot. If you were one of the many people who saved egg shells for me, this perfect tomato goes out to you. It was delicious.

And here are the ‘maters that made it out of the garden. (I ate many while I was “checking the plants for gopher damage”.)

Reverence to the tomatoes.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by aztechalo on August 27, 2010 at 06:46

    You sound like a wonderful mother. Are you as kind as beautiful?

    Reply

  2. Posted by aztechalo on August 28, 2010 at 22:11

    That was my husband, not me. He just didn’t realize he was signed in as me. I was really confused at first.

    Marsha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

