Fog

Redemption is feeling under the weather. All the Prunedalians are complaining that there’s been too much fog and cold this year and their tomatoes aren’t ripening. For me, this is a serious crisis. The plants are growing like crazy but last week we finally got the first two ripe tomatoes.

Note the buds and unripe fruit. This is very frustrating. The basil however, is growing wild. I had to cut it all back before it fully bolted. This resulted in an entire box of basil that I took to work in hopes of getting rid of it.

It has also resulted in eating caprese salad every night, something Dave is not at all upset about.

These unstaked plants are out of control. Because I didn’t stake them, they didn’t reach their full height of 8 feet but they have managed to sprawl to well over 5 feet. Some them have two inch trunks.

Can you see me in the sea of green?

The naked ladies, however, don’t care about the fog. They are a bright addition to the unripened garden.

I’m crossing my fingers for some sun or I’m going to be very sad. On the plus side, I won’t heave to learn to can!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Ugh, I am sick of the weather too. What the hell happened to summer?

    Don’t worry, it will be time to can right about the same time school starts. *___*

    Reply

  2. Posted by Amethyst on August 16, 2010 at 21:33

    I thought it might make you happy to know that I used the last of the basil I took from work tonight. I made a lemon basil dijon marinade for chicken. (And I mean lemon and basil though it MIGHT actually have been the lemon basil – when I nibbled on a leaf it had a hint of citrus.)

    The rest of the basil went in some veggies that we sauteed and served over pasta last week when my niece and nephew were here.

    Reply

  3. Posted by ma on November 27, 2010 at 10:33

    Have you considered a dehydrator?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

