The Flower Project

I’m working out some technical “stuff” on this blog. I get two size options for pictures. Small or ginormous. (You know what’s funny? Spell check had no problem accepting ginormous. I hope it means what I think it means.) So tonight, I’m going to try to work out the ideal size photo for my blog by manually creating the correct size. And by manually, I have found a web site to do all of the calculations, I’m just going to try to find the correct size.

Here is my brief study (read: not especially impressive photos) of the flowers of the vegetable garden…

This soon to be blossoming beauty is a naked Lady that’s volunteering to grow in the middle of the peppers. At some point someone must have planted them all over in the back yard because we dug up hundreds of the bulbs as we built the garden area. They are also cropping up in the paths between the beds. I’m going to let them come up then dig them up in the spring and re-home them so I can put gravel down along the pathways. In the meantime, the name of the flowers makes my 11-year-old step-daughter blush and giggle…

These yellow beauties are squash, though I don’t know what kind. The plants were given to me by a friend and I never got the name. At the time it didn’t matter because the plants were on their last leg and a dying plant by any other name is compost but the squash rallied and I think it’s going to fruit. I’m kind of loving the darkness to this photo; it’s oh so Garden of Good and Evil…

It feels like I might have found the right size photo. BRING ON THE NEXT FLOWER!

This photo would have been perfect except for the breeze that picked up just as i started snapping away. The breeze on which the tomato blossoms thrive, is not so great for the macro photography. Do you see the little hairs along the branches of the tomato? That tells us the tomato is a member of the nightshade family. They will also turn into roots if planted underground…

More tomato blossoms. Look how different this group looks…

This is a wannabe (again, I have a problem that spell check doesn’t have a problem with that word) flower. This basil attempted to bolt but I nipped it in the bud…

And finally a real “flower” nasturtium is traditionally grown for its beauty but it’s a delicious addition to salads. If you have girl children making a flower salad will appeal to them. Tell them it’s fairy or princess or fairy princess salad and what them woof it down..

OK, this isn’t technically a flower…yet. This is about to be a flower on my potato plant. These are no ordinary potatoes. These seedling potatoes came from the seed savers exchange and they are red all the way through. I am just thrilled to bits with how easy these ‘taters are to grow. I hacked up the spuds, buried them, watered, and now they are turning into huge luscious foliage! Dare I say but they are actually more exciting than the other seedlings I have in the garden this year…

This is the first blossom from our Padron peppers. If you haven’t had Padrons find them at your nearest farmers market; do not delay. We cook them in a cast iron skillet, in olive oil until they are slightly brown, add salt and eat. And eat. And eat. Then make them every time you have guests because they are so very amazing.  They have a common name of roulette peppers because about every fifth one is spicy…

And last but not least, the first blossoms in the garden were these delicate flowers from a White Cherry tomato plant. the plant is large and hearty now but I have to acknowledge then for being such early bloomers. The macro is much better on this photo…

Thank you for bearing with my photography experiment.

One response to this post.

  1. Nice photos Marcia! Now I want to plant potatoes too. Is it too late????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

