Basil. How Do I Love Thee?

I could wax poetic about basil. I could go on for days. From the gardener’s perspective, it’s hard to grow. It’s fussy. It needs heat to germinate and heat to grow and it bolts quickly if you let it. But it’s worth every second. There are four kinds of basil growing in the Garden of Good and Evil and I love every one of them. We have…

Purple Basil- I think this might be the same as Opal basil. It’s mild and slightly sweet. It’s amazingly beautiful in a Caprese salad, especially if the tomatoes are a fun color like orange or yellow.

We have Red and Green Basil- Now, I will tell you, dear reader, that there may be a mix up on basil labeling. Actually, there is no maybe about it, there is simply a mix up. Sometimes this happens when you let kids help. Anyhow, this basil is purple but I’m certain it’s the red and green basil….

Lemon Basil- Oh lemon basil! How do I love Thee? I wish my entire life smelled like lemon basil. It is amazing. I think next year I’m going to do some research and make a room spray and a pet spray out of this. This little beauty is nestled amongst the leaves of a giant tomato plant…

And last but not least, Thai basil. At least, I think it’s Thai basil. Again, there was a labeling issue but Thai is the only kind that makes sense. Thai basil  has a hint of licorice and sweetness. Of all my basil plants, it’s the most prolific. Years ago, in Tennessee, I had a Thai basil plant that I grew year round through ice storms and summer heat. No one ever told that plant that basil dies in the winter. I suspect, this type of basil is more hearty than we give it credit for.

Leave a Reply

