Archive for July 19th, 2010

The Honey Do List

Redemption is in shambles. Years of neglect have left the house unlivable and somewhat dangerous, the grasses and weeds are so high that we lost the dog in the meadow and we have some serious drainage issues that turn part of the property into a wetlands. So I gave my wonderful husband a list of things that needed to be done as soon as escrow closed. Unfortunately, the reality is, we are two people battling 36 acres of wildness. My honey do list included several things that I thought we would get done in the first month:

  • Build pasture fences
  • Fence in the garden area
  • Build raised beds
  • Put in french drains

I hear universal laughter ringing out from the heart of every home owner who has taken on a big project. Murphy’s law says it will take four times as long to do things. Not only that but my list didn’t touch all the things we needed to do for the humans to live at the property. It’s a good thing hubby and I balance each other out because he in turn gave me a list of things he wanted done in the first month and it looked like this:

  • Tear out drywall
  • Clear debris from the walls
  • Remove the entire kitchen and bathroom, leaving only a functioning toilet
  • Pull the linoleum
  • Remove pine paneling
  • Get permits approved
  • Put up shelving in the garage

Four months after close of escrow and the list have barely been touched. They loom over us, a crushing amount of tasks. I hear the ticking of the clock. It says, “Tick, tock, tick, you don’t have permits yet, tick, the plants need to be planted…” I doubt this is the last time I’ll hear that clock. Tick tock, Clarice.